The Michigan Council for History Education administers four awards for history teachers across the State of Michigan.  The Annette and James McConnell History Teacher of the Year Award goes to 1 high school, 1 elementary, and 1 pre-service teacher each year.

In addition, the Gilder-Lehrman Institute Awards a Teacher of the Year Award in each state (which is chosen through the Michigan Council for History Education) and then from that pool, selects their National History Teacher of the Year.