National History Teacher of the Year

Gilder Lehrman Preserve America


About the Award:
The National History Teacher of the Year Award recognizes outstanding K–12 American history teachers across the country. Nominate a teacher today!

  • National winner receives a $10,000 prize presented at an award ceremony.
  • State winners receive a $1,000 prize and an archive of classroom resources.

For more information, visit our eligibility page.

Sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and Preserve America announce the annual Preserve America History Teacher of the Year Award, which honors outstanding teachers of American history across the country. The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, founded in 1994, promotes the study and love of American History. Increasingly national and international in scope, the Institute’s programs and initiatives serve audiences ranging from students to scholars in the general public. Preserve America is a White House initiative that encourages and supports community efforts to preserve America’s historic, cultural and natural heritage.

The History Teacher of the Year Award, under the rubric of Preserve America, recognizes outstanding American history teachers from elementary school through high school, and the crucial importance of American history education. Finalists are selected from each of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools, and U.S. Territories. These winners in turn, become finalists for the National History of the Year designation.

State winners will be announced and honored at local ceremonies. The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History honors each state winner with an award of $1,000 and a “History Teacher of the Year” plaque in a ceremony in their home state. The Institute also presents their school with an archive of primary historical materials, named in honor of that teacher, for use in the school library or resource center. The Michigan Winner is selected by the MCHE Awards Committee.

The 2011 nominee must be a full-time ELEMENTARY school teacher who teaches American history (including local and state history) as his or her primary subject, or one of the subjects they are responsible for in the classroom. Any full-time ELEMENTARY school teacher may be nominated who focuses on American history within the framework of their elementary school program. For Qualifying Criteria and Eligibility Requirements, please visit:

Any questions about eligibility or procedures should be addressed to the state award coordinator:

Gordon Andrews Email:

One Comment

  1. Pingback: buy cheapest nba 2k18 mt coins pc in u4nba

Comments are closed.